Sunday, October 10, 2010

CD005: Our Holy Ed "Stare A Snake In The Face (unofficial version volume one)" Mixed Tape!

civic duty records is proud to present...
"Stare A Snake In The Face"
(unofficial version volume one)
October 10, 2010:  101010 the binary day of power brings a powerful new Star to the mixed tape scene! Our Holy Ed has descended from the world on high to deliver his introductory salvo of sonic scripture.  "Stare a Snake in the Face" is the first volume of the "Unofficial Version"series. 

When compiling a mix, the important thing for Our Holy Ed isn't if the songs are cool or not, cool is an illusion that dies almost as quickly as it is born.  For Ed, the essential aspect of the music's interrelation to itself and it's fellow musical travelers is what matters. Through techniques both ancient and new, Our Holy Ed alchemically liberates the music from it's base matter and brings it into a higher vibrational reality.

This first mixed tape is a thematic exploration of the reptile brain.  It is a trip into and then past the snake eyes of luck and loss and lipless kisses.  Our reptile brain that will outlive the complex cathedrals of rational thought.  And like future lizards basking in the sun as they sit atop the ruins of skyscraper society, our reptile brains have the ability to be with no philosophical "or not to be" muddying the moment.

To try to describe the details of a mixed tape such as this would be futility itself!  Even without the aid of the corresponding music, the playlist itself is a cypher manuscript that if studied closely is like a rorschach/tattva doorway into subconscious realms.  These are powerful technologies that Our Holy Ed is unleashing into your ears and eyes so we recommend the potential listener approach with caution!

"Stare A Snake in the Face (Unofficial Version Vol. 1)"

track listing:
1. Zola Jesus "Night"
2. Yeah Yeah Yeahs "Gold Lion (Acoustic)" edit
3. :zoviet france: "ram"
4. Robyn "Dancing on My Own (Michael Woods Remix Edit)"
5.Merzbow "noisembryo pt. 4"
6. Swans "Reeling the Liars In"
7.  Celine Dion "My Heart Will Go On (Our Holy Ed's special Weeding the Wedding Out of the Girl remix)"
8. Ash Ra Tempel "Pluralis"
interlude SF68 "Survival"
9. Dead Kennedys "Soup is Good Food" edit
10. Oneida "Sheets of Easter"
11. Scuba "So You Think You're Special"
12. Eddie Entropy "Timewaster 2099"
13. Emmanuel D'orlando "Footages"

All tracks feature some degree of remixing and/or editing from Our Holy Ed (a/k/a Eddie Entropy)  Mix compiled  10/6/2010


No comments:

Post a Comment